Follow Up Friday!

Magnesium Body Lotion

Magnesium Body Lotion

This week I was nervous to find out Plant Therapy’s Make your Own Monday was an emulsified lotion. I’d tried it in the past with poor results, but as I’m challenging myself to do it each week, I became determined.

My flakes never melted as Christina’s did, so I just used the hydrosol/distilled water in the recipe to dissolve them so I didn’t add any extra water.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 cup melted magnesium flakes*
  • 1/4 cup mango butter (I used Shea Butter)
  • 3 tbsp jojoba
  • 3 tbsp beeswax pellets or shredded
  • 2 tbsp hydrosol (I used lavender)
  • 12-15 drops essential oils of your choice. (I used Black Pepper.)

*melt magnesium flakes by placing in an open container and allowing to sit at room temp for several days until melted. Alternately, you could add 2 tbsp hot water to 1/2 cup magnesium flakes. Your final product will be a bit thinner.

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a small glass bowl over simmering water (makeshift double boiler) combine jojoba and beeswax. Allow to melt. Remove from heat and stir in mango or shea butter until melted.
  2. In small saucepan, pour melted magnesium flakes. Gently warm over low heat for 2-3 minutes. Turn off heat
  3. Add hydrosol, mixing briefly.
  4. Add your essential oils to the melted butter/wax
  5. Using immersion blender, begin blending the cooling butter/wax (I used a hand mixer on the highest speed with no problems).
  6. Slowly dribble in the magnesium/hydrosol mixture. Continue blending
  7. At this point you’ll notice the product firms up into a “gel” type consistency -It reminded me of pudding, hence the name – Keep blending
  8. Finally, after adding all the liquid, scoop into a container
  9. This makes 1 cup of product
  10. Store in airtight container.

Christina’s note:  I take out about a weeks worth, and keep the rest in the refrigerator


Results?

It’s lovely and it WORKED!  The black pepper essential oil and lavender hydrosol is actually a great combination.

I now have the confidence to make more emulsified lotions that are like what you buy in the store.

Leave a Reply

